Divine Associates Ltd.

Sao Tome and Principe Passport Visa-Free Countries

Travel With Sao Tome and Principe Passport

 Sao Tome passport ranks 144th in the world as of October 2023 according to VisaGuide Passport Index. This means São Toméan citizens can travel visa-free to 27 countries around the world. However, to enter other countries, São Toméan passport holders must apply for a visa in advance.

Where Can Sao Tome and Principe Passport Holders Travel Without a Visa?

Sao Tome and Principe Passport visa-free countries

As of October 2023, Sao Tome passport holders can travel visa free to 27 countries and territories:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Kosovo
  • Malaysia
  • Micronesia
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

For visa-free travels, you still must have a valid passport — usually six months after your departure date— and you must purchase travel health insurance as required by your destination country.

Visa on arrival countries

If you are a Sao Tome citizen, you can get a visa on arrival for the 32 countries listed below:

  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cabo Verde
  • Comoros
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Palau
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • Saint Lucia
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

You receive a visa on arrival (VOA) after entering the country that issued the visa. There is usually a separate area at the airport where you can apply for a visa on arrival.click here

Electronic visa countries

The following 12 countries issue eVisas for Sao Tome passport holders:

  • Angola
  • Djibouti
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lesotho
  • Montserrat
  • Qatar
  • South Sudan
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Suriname

The process of applying for an eVisa is more or less similar to applying for a traditional visa. However, in this case you do not need to go to the visa application center: you can submit your application online, including visa payment.

Once your application is approved, you will receive an email confirming your visa status as well as a document that you will need to print and bring with you when crossing the border. Your visa will be applied for online, but some agents may ask you for a copy of your license; this is why it’s important to keep a copy with you when traveling

Send inquiry:



Welcome to Divine Associates Ltd.

× How can I help you?