Divine Associates Ltd.

Tanzania Passport Visa-Free Countries

Travel with an Tanzania Passport

 Tanzania passport ranks 136th in the world as of October 2023 according to the VisaGuide Passport Index. This means Tanzania citizens can travel visa-free to 48 countries around the world. However, to enter other countries, Tanzania passport holders must apply for a visa first.

Where Can Tanzania Passport Holders Travel Without a Visa?

Tanzania Passport Visa-Free Countries

As of October 2023, Tanzania passport holders can travel visa free to 48 countries and territories:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Burundi
  • Cayman Islands
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cook Islands
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Hong Kong
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Macau
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niue
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Gambia
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Eswatini

For visa-free travels, you still must have a valid passport — usually six months after your departure date— and you must purchase travel health insurance as required by your destination country.

Visa on arrival countries

If you are a Tanzanian citizen, you can get a visa on arrival for the 21 countries listed below:

  • Bolivia
  • Cambodia
  • Cabo Verde
  • Comoros
  • Ethiopia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu

You receive a visa on arrival (VOA) after entering the country that issued the visa. There is usually a separate area at the airport where you can apply for a visa on arrival.click here

Electronic visa countries

The following 9 countries issue eVisas for Tanzanian passport holders:

  • Djibouti
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Qatar
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Suriname

The process of applying for an eVisa is more or less similar to applying for a traditional visa. However, in this case you do not need to go to the visa application center: you can submit your application online, including visa payment.

Once your application is approved, you will receive an email confirming your visa status as well as a document that you will need to print and bring with you when crossing the border. Your visa will be applied for online, but some agents may ask you for a copy of your license; this is why it’s important to keep a copy with you when traveling.

Send inquiry:



Welcome to Divine Associates Ltd.

× How can I help you?