Divine Associates Ltd.

Scotland Passport Visa-Free Countries

What should you know about a Scotland passport

The Scottish passport (British passport) ranks 5th in the global passport rankings, is one of the most sought after passports in the world and offers exceptional freedom of travel.

There are currently 109 visa-free countries for British passport holders. Even after Brexit, British citizens can visit EU countries for tourism and other permitted purposes without a visa if they do not intend to stay there for more than 90 days.

Scottish citizens can apply for a visa on arrival in 38 countries and apply online for 34 countries.

See traveling from the other side with visa-free access

Visa-free access gives Scots the opportunity to think differently about travel.

Without a visa, British passport holders can visit more unexpected and exotic destinations, change plans as they think about them, and stay longer or shorter depending on their impressions and emotions .

They don't need to join tours and hotels, so they can try staying with locals and gain deeper cultural knowledge as well as insider information about the place and history.

How to apply for a Scotland passport

As Scotland is part of the UK, there is no separate Scottish citizenship or Scottish passport to replace a UK passport, so the procedure must be through the UK Border Agency.

To apply for a passport, a person must first have citizenship. The requirements to become a British citizen are as follows:

  • Older than 18 years old;
  • living continuously in the UK for more than 5 years;
  • have not spent more than 90 days outside the UK in the past year;
  • be a permanent resident of the UK for EEA nationals, or have been granted permission to remain in the UK indefinitely and must have held this for at least one year before applying;
  • pass the English test;
  • meet the requirements of good moral character;
  • Pass the “Life in the UK” test.

When acquiring British citizenship, there are two ways to apply for a passport:

  • online
  • through a paper form

In both cases, applicants must fill out the form, attach photos and supporting documents, and have someone who can confirm their identity.click here

Traveling to visa-free countries is advantageous

Traveling to visa-free countries has many advantages.

For example, it can save a lot of time and money. Applying for a visa can be a long, complicated process and can also be expensive. If a person plans to travel to multiple places that require a visa, the cost of applying for a visa can increase and be very expensive for the applicant.

In addition, British passport holders do not need to worry about being refused entry, because in non-visa-exempt countries there is still a possibility that the person will not be able to enter the country because the visa is not a visa. ensure. Scots can simply arrive at their destination and start exploring without any stress.

109 countries that Scotland passport holders enter visa-free

Visa-free countries with a Scotland passport

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam

Visas are also not required in some UK Dependencies and Overseas Territories, such as Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Guernsey, de Man, Jersey, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Holders of UK diplomatic and special passports are also visa-free to:

  • China (diplomatic passport);
  • Ethiopian (diplomatic or official passport);
  • Kuwait (diplomatic or official passport);
  • Mongolia (diplomatic or official passport);
  • Qatar (diplomatic or official passport and British diplomatic messenger passport or Her Majesty’s Messenger passport);
  • United Arab Emirates (diplomatic or official passport);
  • Zimbabwe (diplomatic or official passport).

Additionally, Scottish citizens can apply for a visa on arrival in 38 countries and apply online for a visa for 34 countries.

Visa on arrival countries

  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Comoros
  • Egypt
  • Gabon
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Electronic visa countries

  • Angola
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Benin
  • Cambodia
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Myanmar
  • New Zealand
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname (E-tourist card)
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • United States
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

British citizens who want to travel to the US by air or cruise ship must obtain a valid electronic visa waiver.


How can you find out if your travel destination is visa-free?

To find out if you need a visa for your travel destination, contact the embassy or check the list of visa-free countries for your nationality.

How can you obtain visa for non-visa-free countries?

Depending on your nationality, purpose of travel and expected length of stay, you can apply for a visa online or an electronic travel permit, apply for a visa on arrival or go to an embassy to apply for a visa. 

Advice for traveling to the countries requiring a visa

Keep these things in mind to ensure you have a smooth and hassle-free experience when visiting countries that require a visa:

  • review entry and visa requirements in advance;
  • Carefully check the information you provide in the application form;
  • have a valid passport with at least 6 months validity;
  • Make hard copies of your documents just in case.

Is researching countries' visa requirements an essential thing to do before traveling?

Researching your destination's visa requirements can not only help you choose the best way to apply for a visa if you need one, but more importantly ensure you enter your desired country without any problems.


Send inquiry:



Welcome to Divine Associates Ltd.

× How can I help you?