Divine Associates Ltd.

Malawi Visa Types

Thanks to its beauty, Malawi is one of the most popular destinations in the Southern African countries, attracting many tourists every year. Malawi Immigration Services offers six different types of visas to meet the diverse needs of travelers to the country. Usually the process is quite simple so you don't have to worry.

You may be wondering how to get a Malawi visa and what types of visas are available. We can distinguish one:

  • Diplomatic visa
  • Tourist visa
  • Courtesy visa
  • Official visa
  • Visa on Arrival
  • Transit visa
  • Online visa.

Each of them has its own requirements and characteristics. Read this article to learn more about Malawi visa types and enjoy your peaceful vacation.

Malawi e-Visa

Online Malawi Visa is a very good option for those who value their time as they do not need to go to the embassy to apply. It can be used for various purposes such as public transportation, tourism, business or medical purposes.

There are single-entry and multiple-entry electronic visas that guarantee different stays (from 7 days to 12 months).

When you want to apply for a visa online, you must have a valid passport, digital photo, and internet access.

Additionally, you should print out your Malawi e-Visa and double check all the information provided before submitting.

Malawi Visa on Arrival

All visitors wishing to visit Malawi must apply for a visa.
One of the options available is a visa on arrival which can be issued upon entry into Malawi.
Regarding the requirements you need to prepare:
  • Valid passport (at least 6 months) with 2 blank pages
  • Recent passport-sized photo of the face on a white background
Additional documents (tickets, invitation letters, cover letters, diplomatic passports, etc.)
In the case of minors:
  • copy of birth certificate, consent letter from guardian/parents and their passport, proof of legal guardianship (optional).
Additionally, you must pay mandatory fees to visit Malawi.
Once you arrive, you will receive your visa at the airport.

Tourist Visa for Malawi

 Malawi tourist visa can only be used in the case of tourism, business or residence in Malawi. Its validity period lasts 3 months. Note that it can only be used once as it is a single-entry visa. To get it, you must have a passport valid for at least 6 months and 2 recent photos on a white background. You must also have proof of yellow fever vaccination.

Malawi Official Visa

Official visas are for people who want to enter Malawi for official business. It is important to know that they must hold an official, official or diplomatic passport to get an approved visa.

Malawi Transit Visa

If you only want to enter Malawi to reach your final destination, you need a transit visa that allows you to stay in Malawi for a short period of time as the visa expires after 7 days. This type of visa can only be used once.

Malawi Diplomatic Visa

Diplomatic visas are issued by the Government of Malawi to people who hold diplomatic passports and need to enter Malawi. It is specially designed for missions or official visits to Malawi. The validity period of this Malawi visa is 3 months and can only be used once.

Malawi Courtesy Visa

This Malawi visa is for people invited by the Government of Malawi to visit Malawi. This type of visa is not the same as a diplomatic visa, so keep that in mind. Additionally, you must have a passport valid for at least 6 months to be able to travel to the country with a Malawi visa.

Important notes:

  • The visa types mentioned above can be classified as transit visas, single-entry visas or multiple-entry visas.
  • Single entry visas can only be used once and are valid for 3 months.
  • Multiple entry visas can be valid for 6 or 12 months and allow travelers to visit Malawi multiple times.
  • Transit visas are valid for 7 days and are considered a single entry option.

Send inquiry:



Welcome to Divine Associates Ltd.

× How can I help you?