Divine Associates Ltd.

Ethiopia Passport Visa-Free Countries

Ethiopian passport travel information

The Ethiopian passport ranks 100th in terms of travel freedom according to the global Henley's Passport Index. It means that Ethiopian citizens have low mobility score, and their passport opens fewer borders than other countries' passport from the top-ranking places.

There are 16 Ethiopia visa-free countries, 24 countries issuing online visas, and 29 countries offering a visa-on-arrival option.

Read the article and find general information about visa-free traveling and learn how to check what countries you may visit with only a passport.

Ethiopian citizens can elongate their trip with visa-free access

Visa-free travel offers great opportunities to visit new places. Unlimited number of entries and length of stay give you more flexibility when traveling.

This is a popular feature when meeting new people or exploring a specific place. We can extend a trip without taking any extra steps or decide to take a trip of just a few minutes. This involves purchasing tickets and booking accommodation.

Ethiopian passport visa-free countries:

  • Barbados
  • Benin
  • Dominica
  • Haiti
  • Kenya
  • Micronesia
  • Philippines
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Singapore
  • Northern Cyprus
  • Palestine
  • South Ossetia
  • Transnistria
  • Cook Islands
  • Niue
  • Pitcairn Islands

Besides, there are 29 countries where a visa-on-arrival is accepted and 24 where an electronic visa is available.

Visa on arrival countries

If you are an Ethiopian citizen, you can get a visa on arrival for the 30 countries listed below:

  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cabo Verde
  • Comoros
  • Eritrea
  • Ghana
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Lucia
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Zimbabwe

You receive a visa on arrival (VOA) after entering the country that issued the visa. There is usually a separate area at the airport where you can apply for a visa on arrival.click here

Electronic visa countries

The following 28 countries issue eVisas for Ethiopian passport holders:

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Colombia
  • Djibouti
  • Ecuador
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Guinea
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Montserrat
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • South Africa
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia

The process of applying for an eVisa is more or less similar to applying for a traditional visa. However, in this case you do not need to go to the visa application center: you can submit your application online, including visa payment.

Once your application is approved, you will receive an email confirming your visa status as well as a document that you will need to print and bring with you when crossing the border. Your visa will be applied for online, but some agents may ask you for a copy of your license; this is why it’s important to keep a copy with you when traveling.

Send inquiry:



Welcome to Divine Associates Ltd.

× How can I help you?